BPW Foundation's Women Misbehavin' Blog

Well behaved women never make history

Celebrating (Misbehavin’) Women’s History Month

Posted by gansie on March 5, 2009

sdawkins

As an organization proud of its legacy of supporting working women, Business and Professional Women’s Foundation honors today’s trailblazing women as they lead the way in creating successful workplaces.

This Misbehavin’ interview is the first in a series as BPW commemorates Women’s History Month.

Name: Stephanie Dawkins

Title: Senior Vice President, Global Process Owner for Labor and Employee Relations

Organization: AB Volvo

Ms. Dawkins is the only African American senior vice president in the 80-year history of AB Volvo. AB Volvo is one of the world’s leading manufacturers of trucks, buses and construction equipment, drive systems for marine and industrial applications, aerospace components and services.

In her role as senior vice president, she has global responsibilities for various worldwide HR processes for the Volvo Group, including Performance Management, Organizational Effectiveness, Exit Management and Global Policy Harmonization. Volvo has production facilities in 19 countries and is present in 180 markets; she travels the globe working on various HR initiatives.

My favorite woman in history is… Tina Turner because she is such a strong independent woman who was able to persevere and transform despite difficult obstacles in her life.  I love Tina!

Women have helped me succeed in my career by… helping me to learn from them.  My mother taught me the importance of hard-work and perseverance.  Throughout my career I have worked with different women in various positions and through them I was able to learn What-To-Do and What-Not-To-Do in the workplace.

I support Business and Professional Women’s Foundation because…  I was a Young Careerist (BPW/USA competition) several years ago and I have always appreciated the platform and mission that both BPW/USA and BPW Foundation have put out there.  As a BPW Foundation board trustee, I would love to help BPW to go to the next level of public awareness. Being a trustee and being able to help BPW Foundation empower working women and transform workplaces is a very rewarding experience.

I’m proud to be a Misbehavin Woman by… being a fearless leader.  I believe that women are so strong and we need to recognize the strength that we have to come together and support each other.  If we put aside all the cattiness we can accomplish anything….there is no stopping us!

You too can celebrate a woman in your life by making a $50 donation in her honor to BPW Foundation.

3 Responses to “Celebrating (Misbehavin’) Women’s History Month”

  1. Wow! I love it.

  2. Pat said

    Congratulations Stephanie! Tina Turner is one of my favorites too!
    Pat Sledge
    BPW of the Triad, NC

  3. Wanda said

    Thank you, Thank you. I’m a former BPW with Uptown in Bangor Maine. I enjoyed the work, mission, and ladies but the format became too routine and not helpful to me as a middle aged professional with a bit of a tenacious approach to progress.

    I can already see that BPW is re-engineering itself to be more inclusive and responsive to the the needs of the modern working woman.

    Thank you and applause for changing with the times.

Leave a Reply

 
