BPW Foundation's Women Misbehavin' Blog

Well behaved women never make history

Tell Us What You Want, What You Really Really Want

Posted by sherrysaunders on February 2, 2010

As I have navigated through my career, I have had mentors at several stages.  My mentors have been both men and women but I must say I found women mentors met more of my needs, especially when trying to navigate work-life-family issues.

In turn, I have tried to advise and mentor others as they enter the job market and figure out how to boost their careers.

Finding the right mentor can sometimes be hard.  Often everyone at the office is too busy to help you out or may not have the skill sets you need to access and learn about.

But mentors don’t need to just come from your workplace.  Look at associations, schools and not profit organizations as a resource for mentors.  Get involved in activities that expand your horizons and introduce you to new people in your field.  And don’t be afraid to ask.  I know in my case I am flattered when someone asks for my help and will really try to accommodate that person even if I am busy.

This week’s “Tell Us What You Want, What You Really Really Want” —
What do you think about mentors – helpful or a hindrance:

  • Would a mentor help you?
  • Have you actively sought out a mentor?
  • Where did you find your mentor?
  • Was the relationship helpful and a success?
  • What can mentors do to better assist you?
  • If you have a mentor, how often do you meet and where?
  • Do you think someone over 40 really knows what you need?

You can post your musings on Young Women Misbehavin’, Facebook, Twitter or email us at kbarrett@bpwfoundation.org.

4 Responses to “Tell Us What You Want, What You Really Really Want”

  1. Alissa said

    I don’t know if I really need a mentor, I feel like I need more networking. Actually, I wish when I was in college, I actually DID the networking. I think it’s good to have a lot of contacts in a variety of areas that you can speak too. I think one mentor is too limiting. I mean, definitely, I’ve had a few people help me through some career choices that I consider a mentor.

  2. […] is exploring. Through our Young Careerist Research Project we’re asking Gen Y women about their views of work and the workplace and will then share that knowledge with employers looking to recruit and […]

  3. […] is exploring. Through our Young Careerist Research Project we’re asking Gen Y women about their views of work and the workplace and will then share that knowledge with employers looking to recruit and […]

  4. […] is exploring. Through our Young Careerist Research Project we’re asking Gen Y women about their views of work and the workplace and will then share that knowledge with employers looking to recruit and […]

Leave a Reply

 
