BPW Foundation's Women Misbehavin' Blog

Well behaved women never make history

What Is Family?

Posted by joyinhome on June 23, 2010

My family consists of me and my two children. Growing up, my nuclear family included my mother, my aunt and my cousin but my definition always included my extended family of grandparents, aunts, cousins and uncles.

Family is no longer a husband, a wife and 2.5 children- perhaps the average family never was. Family supercedes blood lines, marriage/divorce, death and household.

Yesterday, the U.S. Department of Labor took a huge step in providing an updated definition for today’s family; more specifically, those who care for children and would be eligible for using the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA). ‘In loco parentis’ was clarified to mean anyone who cares for a child and needs time off (unpaid) to care for them when they are ill: aunties, uncles, grandma, grand-dad, same-sex parents. In DC, social service benefits were updated this past year to account for so many grandparents who have guardianship of their children’s children.

Everyone has a family and everyone should be able to take care of them…even if that family looks “different.”

One Response to “What Is Family?”

  1. Happy 4th of July to all the famalies out there! The FMLA was a great thing for me when I had my two boys, and I think it is great thing for anyone.
    I am finding as my boys are now getting older, I am hanging on to as many memories as I can. Looking at old photographs is a great way to bond with
    your kids, and learn some family history too. A couple of years ago I started creating photographic collages with all of their pictures over the years.
    It was a hit with my family and friends, and finally this spring I developed my first website offering them to famalies of
    all ages. Check it out and feel free to give me your comments.

    Betty Osborn
    http://www.timeinatreasure.com

Leave a Reply

 
