BPW Foundation's Women Misbehavin' Blog

Well behaved women never make history

This is What a Virtual Worker Looks Like

Posted by gansie on July 2, 2010

When BPW Foundation decided to move to a virtual office environment I was at first nervous. I live in a one bedroom with my boyfriend. There’s no spare space for a proper office. But as I thought more about what “virtual” meant, as in I could work anywhere–not just the tiny desk that sits 2 feet away from my bed–I started to cling to the idea.

I’m down the Jersey Shore this weekend for the 4th. Because of our flexible, virtual policies I left Thursday night to come here. Today I’ll be on and off line, as I’ve finished most of my week’s work before the drive. I imagine today as checking emails, laying on the sand, sending my year end budget predictions, jumping in the ocean and sending out a thank you letter.

This is what a virtual worker looks like.

8 Responses to “This is What a Virtual Worker Looks Like”

  1. Elisabeth Gehl said

    Love it! Look at you girl. Jealous of that view. Have a great time at the beach!

  2. some people have all of the luck, think i’m going to forward this article to everyone in the office and start a movement towards us becoming a fully fledged virtual office, then we can all end up working on the beach like you…

  3. […] work at home, in a make-shift desk area about 3 feet from my bed. I have, once so far this summer, worked from the beach. But I have not gone the coffee shop route. I might feel awkward sitting somewhere for so long. […]

  4. […] bad, especially with the abundance of fresh fruit this time of year. Although there has been some ups and downs in this whole work from home thing, I’m actually loving […]

  5. […] Posts This is What a Virtual Worker Looks LikeDesperate Out-of-the-HousewivesVirtual Worker In Need of Place to Work « When Actions […]

  6. […] to eat. Finally! My love for salty crunch and creamy egg can be together at last! And because I now work from home full time I decided to try this out last week for […]

  7. […] in virtual working: This is What a Virtual Worker Looks Like Virtual Worker in Need of Place to Work Eating […]

  8. […] can get her work done from 9am-1pm, why should she sit at her desk for the rest of the day? And in fact, why should she even have to be at her desk? If the focus is on results, then why can’t she work when, where and how she works best? […]

Leave a Reply

 
