BPW Foundation's Women Misbehavin' Blog

Well behaved women never make history

Joining Forces: Women Veterans Speak Out

Posted by YWM on May 23, 2011

Read the third installment of our new every-other-week Joining Forces feature that will bring us the voices of women veterans telling their stories.  If you are a women veteran who would like to share your story, please contact us through our Joining Forces for Women Veterans Facebook page, or email dcorazza@bpwfoundation.org.


Do You Know Me?
  by Joyce C. Leneave, Veteran, US Army

Do you know me?
Do you think you do?
I served so that we may stay free,
My blood runs RED… and WHITE… and BLUE.

Do you see me?
Do you know about my life?
I volunteered for my Country,
I was a soldier before I became a mother and a wife.

Do you know me?
Do you see the gleam in my eye?
Ask me about the sacrifice it takes to be free,
I will live and breathe it until I die.

Do you see me?
Do you think you can?
I drove the deuce and half and the humvee,
Long before driving the minivan.

Do you know me?
Do you see what I have done?
I have carried, breastfed, and pottytrained my babies,
I have carried, cleaned, and fired many guns.

Do you know me?
Do you know there are many others?
Who, like me, want you to see,
We are Veterans, Wives, and Mothers.

Leave a Reply

 
